Welcome to Money Diaries, where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Calling all entrepreneurs: We want to hear from you! If you’re a freelancer or self-employed, we’d love to feature your Money Diary. Submit here.

Travel Diaries: We’re looking to get the inside scoop on when, where, and how our peers are using their vacation days. Open to tracking your travel expenses during an upcoming trip? Email us at traveldiary@refinery29.com.

Today: a program specialist working in the non-profit sector who makes $32,500 per year and spends some of her money on Diet Pepsi.

Occupation: Program Specialist
Industry: Non-Profit
Age: 23
Location: Austin, TX
Salary: $32,500
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $1,067 after taxes (plus $75-$200 in mileage reimbursement per month)
Gender Identity: Woman

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $450 for a room in a four-bed, two-bath apartment (with three other roommates)
Car Payment: $183/mo
Student Loans: $0 right now (I’m on an income-based repayment plan)
Medical, Dental, & Vision Insurance: $0 (covered by work)
Phone: $0 (still on my family’s plan, thankfully)
Spotify, Hulu, Netflix: $0 (also still on my family’s plan)
Car Insurance: ~$700 every 6 months
Internet: $0 (covered in rent)
Renter’s Insurance: $11
Utilities: ~$35
Gym Membership: $40
Credit Card Payment: $100-200 a month, more if I can (I accumulated quite a bit of debt in grad school and am trying to pay it off)
Savings: $200-300 per month

Day One

9:30 a.m. — My alarm goes off, despite the fact that it’s the weekend. I am supposed to go to an open skate for my roller derby class this morning to sign up for my next session of classes, but nothing is making me leave this bed right now. I send my teacher a quick email about signing up online instead and fall blissfully back to sleep.

12:30 p.m. — I finally, begrudgingly, get up for the day. I usually only work Monday to Friday, but I had events the last two Saturdays, so this is my first opportunity to sleep late in a while, and I take full advantage of it. I go to the kitchen and make myself a lazy lunch of sausage and peppers in tomato sauce, topped with mozzarella along with the butt of a baguette and a handful of pretzels on the side. It’s so good I decide that I’m going to eat it for dinner this week. After lunch, I attack the mountain of clean laundry that needs folding and catch up on my shows: Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Superstore, and Survivor.

2:30 p.m. — After a quick shower, I throw on a black dress and Doc Martens and decide it’s probably time for my weekly grocery run. First, I swing by the Starbucks drive-thru. I’m definitely a caffeine addict, and I feel a headache coming on if I don’t get coffee into my system soon. I get a grande iced coffee with cream and half sweetener ($3.19) while listening to The Dropou t in my car. This story is wild! At …read more

Source:: Refinery29

      

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
A Week In Austin, TX, On A $32,500 Salary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *