Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Today: an entrepreneur (tarot reader) working in witchcraft and spiritual work who makes $40,000 per year and spends some of her money this week on rubber Birkenstocks.

Occupation: Entrepreneur (Tarot Reader)
Industry: Witchcraft and Spiritual Work
Age: 31
Location: Austin, TX
Salary: $40,000
Gender Identity: Woman

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $1,126
Loans: $96
Renter’s Insurance: $15.99
Utilities: $80
Internet: $55
Phone: $55
Spotify: $9.99
Netflix: $0 (use a friend’s login)
Hulu Premium (no commercials) & HBO Add-On: $26
Showtime: $5.49
Amazon Prime: $5.99 (discounted due to EBT)
Apple Storage: $2.99
Health Insurance: $214.24
Swell Investing IRA: $50 (I try to put back a little bit each month, but I also think the world is pretty fucked, so I’m more interested in using my money to live now. I also only want to invest in ethical companies.)
NARAL and RAINN Donation: $10

Day One

9 a.m. — I’ve been waking up earlier than normal. My work is spiritually intense, so it requires me to sleep a lot. Plus, I have depression, so I can’t hold down a regular day job. I’m so fortunate that I’ve found a spiritual practice that actually pays the bills…most of the time.

10:30 a.m. — I decide to text K. and see what his day looks like. I don’t have any appointments till the evening, so we can have a daytime rendezvous. He texts back and says he’s free for lunch. I almost change my mind because my apartment and my hair badly need cleaning, but I still have a few hours to get all that accomplished, so I swing into action. I listen to my podcasts from the week ( Hysteria and My Favorite Murder) and get my cleaning done, as well as finally unpacking from a trip to my home state of Indiana last week. I frame a print of Rihanna smoking a blunt to hang in front of my bed. It’s an old print, but the shoddy IKEA frame I had it in fell and broke, so I bought a new one from Amazon last week.

11:45 a.m. — I shower, touch up my toenail polish, and dry my hair. I do a full face of makeup and actually do my hair, which is more than I’d normally do for a Friday afternoon of meetings with clients. K. is 15 years my senior. We met on Seeking Arrangements about a year ago. He’s a divorced dad of four teenage kids, and he works a lot. Our relationship has had its ups and downs and has become more of a friends-with-benefits situation than an arrangement these days. He’s very handsome, and I actually like him. The last couple months have been pretty slow for me with clients, and I’m behind on some bills. I know I need to ask him for a loan (or maybe a gift, if he offers), but I’m not really looking forward to negotiating it.

1 p.m. — K. comes …read more

Source:: Refinery29

      

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
A Week In Austin, TX, On A $40,000 Salary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *