Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Calling all entrepreneurs: We want to hear from you! If you’re a freelancer or self-employed, we’d love to feature your Money Diary. Submit here.

Calling all queers! It’s almost Pride Month and we want to amplify the voices of LGBTQIA++ people. If you’re a member of the LGBTQIA++/queer community and have ever thought about filling out a Money Diary, we’d love to feature you! Submit here.

Today: a Marketing Specialist who makes $52,500 per year and spends some of her money on e.l.f. bronzer.

Occupation: Marketing Specialist
Industry: Marketing
Age: 25
Location: Columbus, OH
Salary: $52,500
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $2,000-$3,000, depending on incentive payouts
Gender Identity: Woman

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $100 (I live with my sister, her husband, and my niece, thereby trading living expenses for free babysitting services. I pay them $50.00/paycheck for the food we share as a house.)
Student Loans: $300
Car Loan: $299.72
Tax Repayment Plan: $108
iPhone Loan: $41.58
Phone Bill: $30.52 (paid to my dad—I’m still on the family’s plan)
Car insurance: $72.11
Health/Dental/Vision Insurance: $346.86 (pre-tax)

HSA Contribution: $100 (pre-tax)
401K Contribution: 5% of my paycheck (Employer matches 50% of my contribution)
Community Partnership Donation: $20 (pre-tax)
Climbing gym membership: $84.93
Massage Wellness Club: $74.18
Apple Music Subscription: $10.74
Netflix: $0 (I use my parent’s account)
Savings: Every month I move $100 into my savings account, $100 into a checking account reserved just for travel, and $50 into a checking account reserved just for emergencies.

Day One

8:30 a.m. — My alarm buzzes. I’m disoriented. It’s Sunday morning, why am I awake this early? I usually let myself snooze until 10 on the weekends, but I remember that I’ve booked a massage this morning. I ran a half marathon yesterday and I am feeling every bit of those 13.1 miles. I silently congratulate myself for being proactive enough to schedule this massage for today. I let myself lay in bed until 9. Finally, time becomes a crisis, and I know I can’t lay there any longer.

9:30 a.m. — Bagel with peanut butter, dry shampoo, toothpaste, water: check, check, check, check. I hop in my car and drive the 25 minutes to my massage studio. I’ve had my membership at the studio for about two years and consider it cheap health insurance for the poor-postured desk worker (AKA me). Plus I really appreciate my therapist, N.

12 p.m. — N. wraps up my massage and walks me out to the lobby to pay and schedule my next session. My membership only covers me for a 60-minute massage every month, but I knew I’d want a long one post-race and had booked in for 120 minutes today. I pay the difference and leave N. a big tip. $88.37

12:30 p.m. — I get back home to my three-year-old niece, S., and brother-in-law, B., eating lunch and watching a movie on the couch. I know nap time is quickly approaching for our house. The hours …read more

Source:: Refinery29

      

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
A Week In Columbus, OH, On A $52,500 Salary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *