A Week In Queens, NY, On A $59,000 Salary

Culture

Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Today: a research analyst working at a nonprofit who makes $59,000 per year and spends some of her paycheck this week on Kat Von D tattoo eye liner.

Occupation: Research Analyst
Industry: Nonprofit
Age: 33
Location: Astoria, New York
Salary: $59,000
My Paycheck Amount (1x/month): $3,400
My Fiancé’s Paycheck Amount (1x/month): $3,600

Monthly Expenses
Mortgage & Maintenance Fees: $1,350. (My fiancé, R., and I currently live in an apartment that he pays rent for. When our lease is up in a few months, we will move into a one-bedroom apartment that I own.)
Student Loan: $370
Health Insurance: $0. (My employer pays.)
401k: I don’t make any contributions, but my employer contributes $145.75 every month. (I currently have ~$4,000 in that account.)
Phone: $90
Internet: $60
Hulu: $7.99
Netflix: $10.99
Gym: $36
Credit Cards: $345. (I recently paid off ~$8,000 and will be done with the rest by November of this year.)

Day One

8:30 a.m. — I wake up at 7:15 a.m. after snoozing my alarm twice. I debate whether I really need to shower, because it’s so cold outside. I grew up in Bangladesh and struggle with New York weather. I’m marrying a New Yorker, though, so I have to get used to it! I decide to be an adult and shower and get dressed. I have learned that if I look good, I feel energetic. I walk quickly to the train ($2.75). Once I make my transfers and get on the G, I sit down and do my makeup (yes, I am one of those people). I put on the same makeup every day, and it takes me four minutes to do it. I get off the subway and pick up coffee ($2) from the corner diner. (It’s this mom and pop diner run by an old Greek curmudgeon who yells at everyone and only accepts cash. I go there every weekday morning for my coffee). $4.75

10 a.m. — I work in a school building where my fiancé, R., is a teacher. (I know, eye roll – meet cute to the max – I can’t stand us either.) He has a coffeemaker in his classroom, so I always go up to visit him for my second cup of coffee. I can’t live without that first cup from the Greek diner – R. has tried to have this debate with me many times. I make my coffee, wave to R. (he’s teaching), and go downstairs to start my work day. I have a list of items to do today that I put off last Friday.

11:15 a.m. — Because I don’t eat breakfast, I am usually ravenous by 11:15. Today I brought a baked chicken breast with pesto and lime and stir-fried sugar snap peas with halved cherry tomatoes. It’s very easy to make pesto at home, and so much more flavorful – just throw in a couple of cloves …read more

Source:: Refinery29

      

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *