A Week In Seattle, WA, On $24/Hour

Culture

Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Occupation: Project Management Coordinator
Industry: Technology
Age: 25
Location: Seattle, WA
Salary: $24/hour
Paycheck (Weekly): $778.51

Monthly Expenses
Housing: $1,833. My boyfriend and I split this evenly each month, each paying $916.50.
Car Payment: $239.80

All Other Monthly Expenses
Parking: $150
Wi-Fi: $73.90 split evenly with my boyfriend ($36.95 each)
Phone Payment: $70
Hulu: $12.92
Health Insurance: I’m on my parents’ insurance for three more months
Credit Card Debt: $3,000
Savings: No monthly savings, but this month I started to put $100 into retirement every month

Day One

8:45 a.m. — I get to sleep in today because it’s New Year’s Day! I stumble out of bed after lying there for about an hour to get coffee at Starbucks, but I forgot that most places are closed on New Year’s Day. I go to three different Starbucks until I found one that is open and get my coffee. $3.80

10:30 a.m. — Back at home. Time to take down the Christmas tree (the saddest time of the year) and clean of the apartment. Rent is due, so I do some math to figure out what it comes out to after utilities. It seems lower than normal — $968.20 — but I later learn that my boyfriend accidentally paid for my share of the parking. I will pay the difference next month.

12:15 p.m. — I wanted to use my Target gift card from Christmas to get a lamp we badly need for our dining area. I forgot my eyebrow liner at my parents’ house when I visited over the holidays, so I get that, too. I still have about $6 on my gift card after checking out.

1:30 p.m. — I want Panera bread for lunch, but it’s closed. My boyfriend and I go to Met Market and I get fried chicken and fries with aioli sauce, feeling a little guilty for continuing my holiday indulgences. I also pick up a pre-made baked potato because we are having steak for dinner and I forgot to buy potatoes at the store the other day. I find pine nut hummus for the week’s lunches to go with mini-cucumbers I got at Costco. $22.59

2:10 p.m. — We go back home to eat and watch the Harry Potter marathon that’s on. Then, we watch the new season of Black Mirror. Later, I remember that I need to make a few edits to a deck for work, which takes about an hour. After, I take some time to make my monthly budget. My credit card bill is adding up and it hurts!

6:45 p.m. — My BF makes steak. I’m still super full from the chicken and fries, and wind up not eating dinner. We finish our day going back and forth between Harry Potter and Black Mirror. I’m scheduled to work from home tomorrow, but feel like I should go in.

Daily Total: $26.39

Day Two

5:45 a.m. — I finally …read more

Source:: Refinery29

      

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *