Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Calling all entrepreneurs: We want to hear from you! If you’re a freelancer or self-employed, we’d love to feature your Money Diary. Submit here.

Calling all queers! It’s almost Pride Month and we want to amplify the voices of LGBTQIA++ people. If you’re a member of the LGBTQIA++/queer community and have ever thought about filling out a Money Diary, we’d love to feature you! Submit here.

Today: a Child And Family Therapist who makes $36,000 per year and spends some of it on an Erin Condren LifePlanner.

Occupation: Child and Family Therapist
Industry: Social Services
Age: 28
Location: Seattle, WA
My Salary: $36,000
My Husband’s Salary: $120,000
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $1,240
My Husband’s Salary (1x/month): $7,700
Gender Identity: Female

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $1,330 (My husband and I have both joint and separate accounts, and all monthly expenses, such as rent, come out of our joint account. My weekly expenses come out of my own account, with the exception of any extenuating circumstances.)
Loans: $0 (I paid off my student loans in February after making aggressive payments for a year and a half)
Spotify: $10
Electric: ~$50 (depends on the month)
Water/Sewer: ~$60 (depends on the month)
Internet: $110
Phone: $80
Car Insurance: $45
Roth IRA: $1,000 (until I’ve maxed out contribution)
Savings: $300

Day One

7 a.m. — I don’t work on Fridays, but wake up to say goodbye to my partner before he heads out. Sometimes I manage to fall back asleep, but today is not one of those days, so I get up and make coffee and an egg for breakfast. I’m rewatching The O.C. because it is the greatest televisual experience of the 21st century, and my coworker gave me her Hulu information. I formulate a hypothesis that Luke is the Jaime Lannister of The O.C. (Redemption arc! Reformed bad boy! Questionable romantic interests!) and text this hypothesis to everyone who is willing to listen to me.

10 a.m. — I take this time to call and cancel my massage membership at a national chain. I have chronic musculoskeletal pain due to a number of super fun chronic illnesses, and regular massage helps me to manage that pain. But the massage therapist to whom I am loyal recently branched out to do private massage and now comes to my home. This arrangement is much more convenient and means that he gets paid the full cost of the massage! The woman on the phone is very lovely and helpful and tells me I have 60 days after canceling to use up any outstanding services. I learn I have one left, so I might schedule a facial for later in the month.

12 p.m. — I eat lunch at home and then head to therapy. One of the reasons I don’t work on Fridays is so that I can fit my many doctor appointments in, and that includes mental health therapy. I’m a …read more

Source:: Refinery29

      

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
A Week In Seattle, WA, On A $156,000 Joint Income

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *