A Week In Tallahassee, FL, On A $19,000 Salary


Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Today: a medical student who makes $19,000 per year and spends some of her money this week on groceries at Publix.

Occupation: Medical Student
Industry: Healthcare
Age: 25
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Salary: $19,000 from unsubsidized Stafford loans, after tuition is deducted

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $485
Student Loan Payments: $0. (Scholarships covered my undergraduate education, so thankfully I don’t have loans from that.)
Spotify Premium: $5. (I get the student deal.)
Amazon Prime: $5
The New York Times: $4. (I get the academic rate.)
Health Insurance: $0. (Last year on my father’s health insurance plan!)
Cellphone: $0, also paid for by father.
Car Insurance: $0. (Thanks, Dad!)
Gas: $60

Additional Expenses
Blue Apron Subscription: $60/week

Day One

7:30 a.m. — It’s Saturday, but thanks to my internal alarm clock, I wake up earlier than I want to. I catch my cat munching on my already struggling plant (it’s nontoxic to cats, I’ve already Googled) and while trying to swat him away, I end up knocking over the plant. The pot breaks and my cat doesn’t look guilty at all.

8:20 a.m. — I sweep up the mess and the rest of my room while I’m at it, then toast a bagel for breakfast.

9:20 a.m. — Spend too long searching for ways to prevent my cat from making my plants his personal buffet and then browse Reddit before I study! I have my board exams in three months so I’m cracking down now by doing as many practice tests as possible.

12:20 p.m. —I’m not as productive as I want to be and I reheat a slice of pizza from earlier this week and eat it with raspberries. I head out to the local plant nursery and buy a pot for a plant stand I have at home, plus a cute cactus. $23.10

2:10 p.m. — Stop by Trader Joe’s, where my sweet tooth takes over. I buy a chocolate cake and frozen macarons, as well as a bagged salad, frozen veggies, mango slices, bananas, and an almond butter and turmeric salad dressing I’m excited to try. I drop off the groceries at home, grab my book bag, and head back out. $24.51

2:50 p.m. — I haven’t wheel thrown anything in weeks and I make my way to the ceramic studio and pay to get early access before the class session officially starts. $7.50

5:10 p.m. — I make a couple of coffee pour overs because they are popular in my Etsy shop, plus some vases for fun. Then, I go to the library, where I can hopefully focus on studying.

8 p.m. — Starving, I go home and eat General Tso’s chicken with bok choy I made yesterday. (I love leftovers.) I chat with my roommates in the kitchen while eating macarons.

10 p.m. — Do another practice test while my cat snuggles on my lap. Pass out at midnight.

Daily Total: $55.11

Day Two

8 a.m. — Wake up …read more

Source:: Refinery29


(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *