How to deactivate your Twitter account temporarily or permanently using the desktop site or mobile app

News
Twitter logo on an android phone on table

Summary List Placement

If you’re looking to take a social media hiatus or want to start completely fresh with a new Twitter account, the social media site offers the ability to deactivate your account. 

After deactivating your account, your tweets and messages will be removed from Twitter. However, search engines may archive some of your content, so even if your account is gone, those tweets may not be scrubbed entirely from the internet. If you don’t want search engines archiving your tweets, consider making your Twitter account private. 

If you are deactivating your Twitter account but want to use that username or email address with a new account later, you’ll need to make some changes to your account settings. Once you deactivate, the decision is mostly permanent, with the platform granting you the option to reactivate an account within 30 days. After that, it’s gone permanently. 

Deactivation is not a way to troubleshoot problems with a Twitter account. You should only do this if you genuinely no longer want your handle. 

You can deactivate your Twitter account from the mobile app or web browser. Here’s how to do it. 

How to deactivate Twitter using the mobile app 

1. With the Twitter app open, tap your profile avatar. 

2. Choose “Settings and privacy.”

3. Select “Account.”

4. Tap “Deactivate your account.”

5. Confirm you want to deactivate the account by tapping “Deactivate” and then re-confirm the deactivation.  

How to deactivate Twitter using a desktop web browser

1. Open Twitter in a browser. 

2. Log in to your account if needed. 

3. Click the three-dotted “More” icon in the left-side Twitter bar. 

4. Select “Settings and privacy” from the menu that appears. 

  Retailers like Walmart saw explosive growth in health-focused frozen foods at the start of the pandemic. Now execs are preparing for the new normal in the freezer aisle.

5. Choose “Account.” 

6. Click “Deactivate your account.”

7. Confirm you want to deactivate the account by tapping “Deactivate.” You’ll need to confirm deactivation a second time.

How to reuse your username or email on Twitter in the future

You can take the following steps before deactivating your account to preserve your current username or email address for future use.  

1. Open Twitter in a browser and log in. 

2. Click the “More” option on the left side of the screen. 

3. Choose “Settings and privacy.”

4. In the Account section, select “Username” and enter a new one. 

5. Likewise, click “Email” and enter a new email address.

6. Select “Save changes” at the bottom of the screen. 

7. Confirm the new email when Twitter sends you a confirmation email. 

How to reactivate a Twitter account

1. Open Twitter in a browser. 

2. Log in to your deactivated account. 

3. A Twitter message will ask you to confirm you want to reactivate. 

4. Your account will be restored, though it might take a few days for all your tweets and messages to reappear. 

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

How to add an additional Twitter account, and easily switch between accounts, on the mobile app or website

How to change your Twitter email address on a computer or mobile device

How to change your Twitter language to navigate the platform in your preferred language

How to find your contacts on Twitter to connect with people you know

How to delete …read more

Source:: Business Insider

      

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *