Lakers’ LeBron James makes history with 20th All-Star selection

LOS ANGELES — Last year, Lakers star LeBron James overtook Kareem Abdul-Jabbar as the NBA’s career scoring record.

And on Thursday, he broke another one of Abdul-Jabbar’s long-standing records, being named an NBA All-Star for a record-breaking 20th time.

James will be the captain of the Western Conference All-Star squad for the Feb. 18 All-Star Game in Indianapolis, while Milwaukee Bucks star Giannis Antetokounmpo – the leading vote-getter in the Eastern Conference – will captain that team.

James, a four-time league MVP who is in his 21st NBA season, entered Thursday’s home game against the Chicago Bulls averaging 24.8 points, 7.2 rebounds and 7.4 assists.

He’s a three-time NBA All-Star Game MVP (2006, ’08, ’18) and is the game’s all-time leading scorer (426 points). James will start a record 19th consecutive All-Star Game. He has averaged 22.4 points, 5.8 rebounds, 5.8 assists and 1.2 steals in his 19 All-Star appearances.

The All-Star Game is returning to an East vs. West format for the first time since 2017, scrapping the format that saw the captains pick their respective teams with no regard to conference affiliation.

Barring injuries, James will start alongside Denver Nuggets center Nikola Jokic, Phoenix Suns forward Kevin Durant, Dallas Mavericks guard Luka Doncic and Oklahoma City Thunder guard Shai Gilgeous-Alexander.

Related Articles

Lakers |

Behind Jarred Vanderbilt, Lakers hope for more 2nd-chance opportunities

Lakers |

The Audible: Shoes, interviews and the Hall of Fame

Lakers |

Swanson: Lakers’ D’Angelo Russell makes an impassioned case for himself

Lakers |

Kawhi Leonard’s triple-double helps Clippers fend off LeBron-less Lakers

Lakers |

LeBron-less Lakers trending in right direction on offense despite loss to Clippers

Philadelphia 76ers center Joel Embiid, Boston Celtics forward Jayson Tatum, Indiana Pacers guard Tyrese Haliburton and Bucks guard Damian Lillard will also start for the East.

Starters for each conference – three frontcourt players and two guards – were selected by a combination of three different votes: fan ballots (50%), media ballots (25%) and ballots from NBA players (25%).

The reserve selections from each conference, which will be voted on by the NBA’s head coaches, will be announced on TNT next Thursday (Feb. 1).

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *