Would you ever expect these two rock acts to team up for a concert tour?

REO Speedwagon has made a second career of teaming up with other rockers for successful concert tours.

Yet, we never saw this combo coming:

REO Speedwagon will embark on the Summer Road Trip 2024 with none other than Train.

The trek includes stops at Toyota Amphitheatre in Wheatland on Sept. 6 and Shoreline Amphitheatre in Mountain View on Sept. 7. The groups also perform Golden State shows on Sept. 8 at Kia Forum in Inglewood and Sept. 10 at North Island Credit Union Amphitheatre in Chula Vista.

Tickets go on sale to the general public at 10 a.m. Feb. 2 via SaveMeSanFrancisco.com (Train’s website) and REOSpeedwagon.com. There are also artist presales that run 10 a.m. Jan. 31 to 10 p.m. Feb. 1. Furthermore, presale tickets will be available to Citi cardmembers beginning at 10 a.m. Jan. 31, citientertainment.com.

What makes this pairing so unusual for REO is that it mixes different eras of music. Typically, REO has toured with one of its classic rock peers — such as the Doobie Brothers or Chicago. Yet, this time around, these ’70s and ’80s hitmakers out of Champaign, Illinois, will be teaming up with a Bay Area troupe that didn’t even release its first album until 1998.

But if you ever wanted to hear “Keep On Loving You” and “Hey, Soul Sister” in the same evening then, hey, this could be the tour for you.

(It’s also the tour for us, since REO is awesome in concert and we try to catch the band each and every time through the Bay Area.)

Oh, and as an added bonus, Yacht Rock Revue is opening the gigs. Here’s hoping that they cover Jay Ferguson’s “Thunder Island” at Shoreline.

REO and Train promote the tour with an appearance on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” on Jan. 31. This will mark the bands first-ever performance together on stage.

SUMMER ROAD TRIP 2024 TOUR DATES

DATE  CITY VENUE

Monday, July 8               Somerset, WI               Somerset Amphitheater

Wednesday, July 10        Noblesville, IN              Ruoff Music Center

Thursday, July 11           Pittsburgh, PA              Stage AE ^*

Friday, July 12               Cincinnati, OH              Riverbend Music Center

Saturday, July 13            Tinley Park, IL              Credit Union 1 Amphitheatre

Monday, July 15             Cuyahoga Falls, OH       Blossom Music Center

Tuesday, July 16            Maryland Heights, MO    Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre

Wednesday, July 17        Kansas City, MO           Starlight Theatre ^

Friday, July 19               Lewiston, NY                Artpark ^

Saturday, July 20            Toronto, ON                 Budweiser Stage

Sunday, July 21              Clarkston, MI                Pine Knob Music Theatre

Tuesday, July 23            Saratoga Springs, NY     Broadview Stage at SPAC

Wednesday, July 24        Bethel, NY                   Bethel Woods Center for the Arts

Friday, July 26               Camden, NJ                 Freedom Mortgage Pavilion

Saturday, July 27            Wantagh, NY                Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater

Sunday, July 28             Gilford, NH                   BankNH Pavilion ^

Wednesday, July 31         Syracuse, NY               Empower FCU Amphitheater at Lakeview

Thursday, August 1          Holmdel, NJ                 PNC Bank Arts Center

Saturday, August 3         Hartford, CT                 XFINITY Theatre

Sunday, August 4            Mansfield, MA               The Xfinity Center

Tuesday, August 6          Bristow, VA                  Jiffy Lube Live

Wednesday, August 7     Virginia Beach, VA     Veterans United Home Loans Amphitheater

Friday, August 9             Raleigh, NC                 Coastal Credit Union Music Park

Saturday, August 10        Charlotte, NC               PNC Music Pavilion

Sunday, August 11         Wilmington, NC             Live Oak Bank Pavilion ^

Friday, August 16           Pelham, AL                  Oak Mountain Amphitheatre ^

Saturday, August 17        Alpharetta, GA              Ameris Bank Amphitheatre

Sunday, August 18          Franklin, TN                 FirstBank Amphitheater

Tuesday, August 20        Tampa, FL                   MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheatre

Wednesday, August 21    West Palm Beach, FL     iTHINK Financial Amphitheatre

Thursday, August 22       Jacksonville, FL            Daily’s Place ^

Friday, August 23           Orange Beach, AL         The Wharf Amphitheater

Sunday, August 25          Houston, TX                 The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion

Monday, August 26         Dallas, TX                    Dos Equis Pavilion

Wednesday, August 28    Denver, CO                  Fiddler’s Green Amphitheatre*

Thursday, August 29       Salt Lake City, UT         Utah First Credit Amphitheatre

Saturday, August 31        Auburn, WA                 White River Amphitheatre

Sunday, September 1      Bend, OR                    Hayden Homes Amphitheater

Wednesday, September 4 Ridgefield, WA              RV Inn Style Resorts Amphitheater

Friday, September 6        Wheatland, CA             Toyota Amphitheatre

Saturday, September 7    Mountain View, CA        Shoreline Amphitheatre

Sunday, September 8     Inglewood, CA              Kia Forum

Tuesday, September 10   Chula Vista, CA            North Island Credit Union Amphitheatre

Wednesday, September 11Phoenix, AZ                 Talking Stick Resort Amphitheatre

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *