Carlos Sainz breaks little-known F1 rule straight after winning Australian GP as star brushes off race official

CARLOS SAINZ broke a little-known F1 rule after winning the Australian Grand Prix.

The Spanish driver took the chequered flag on his return to the track in Melbourne on Sunday.

GettyCarlos Sainz broke a little-known F1 rule after winning the Australian Grand Prix[/caption]

After the race, Sainz celebrated by throwing his gloves into the paddock as he jumped into his Ferrari crew.

He also appeared to brush off a race official attempting to direct him towards the weigh-in station.

F1 rules require drivers to weigh in with their gear on before and after races to insure they do not breach the minimum weight threshold of 80kg.

The rule is in place for safety and fairness reasons.

However, Sainz was not punished for throwing away his gloves.

Martin Brundle noticed the rule breach on Sky Sports as he questioned whether it was within FIA regulations.

Lead commentator David Croft said: “I’m not technically sure that is allowed but who cares.”

Brundle added: “You’re not really supposed to go near your team unless (sic) somebody slips a spanner in your pocket or something, a bit of extra weight.”


Sainz claimed victory in Melbourne ahead of his Ferrari team-mate Charles Leclerc, with Lando Norris finishing third.

His win is the first non-Red Bull victory of 2024 after Max Verstappen was forced to retire with a brake issue.

Sainz returned to the grid after being forced out of the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix with appendicitis.

He had been replaced on the grid by 18-year-old Oliver Bearman whilst he underwent surgery.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *