How many times has Mark Selby won the World Snooker Championship?

Selby is eyeing more history in Sheffield (Picture: Zac Goodwin – Pool/Getty Images)

Mark Selby is into yet another World Snooker Championship final, with only Luca Brecel standing in the way of yet more history for the Jester from Leicester at the Crucible.

Whatever happens over the course of the Early May bank holiday, Selby is already regarded as one of the greatest players to have ever picked up a cue with multiple world titles to his name.

But exactly how many times has Selby won the World Snooker Championship?

Let’s take a look at the 39 year-old’s record in the biggest prize the game has to offer.

How many World Snooker Championships does Mark Selby have?

Selby has won the World Snooker Championsip four times in his career.

His first victory in the competition came in 2014, beating the legendary Ronnie O’Sullivan 18-14 in the final.

Selby is already one of the greats (Picture: George Wood/Getty Images)

Selby would only have to wait two years for his second world title, getting the better of Ding Junhui in 2016 by another 18-13 scoreline.

The following year, Selby scooped up back-to-back titles in Sheffield by edging past John Higgins 18-15.

His last success at the Crucible arrived in 2021 courtesy of an 18-15 win over fellow Englishman Shaun Murphy.

Mark Selby World Snooker Championship titles

2014, 2016, 2017, 2021

His haul of four trophies sees him tied as the fifth most successful player in the history of the competition, behind only O’Sullivan (7), Stephen Hendry (7), Steve Davis (6) and Ray Reardon (6).

Victory over Brecel will see him move ahead of Higgins (4) for the outright fifth most trophies in the tournament.

Selby has not had it all his own way in the World Snooker Championship final, however, having lost on his first appearance in the showpiece game against Higgins in 2007 with a 13-18 defecit.

In addition to his four titles, Selby has also reached two quarter-finals and two semi-finals.

More: Trending

What other titles has Mark Selby won in his career?

Selby has won nine Triple Crown titles since turning professional in 1999 when he was aged just 16.

Along with the four world titles, Selby has also picked up three Masters titles and two UK Championships.

His collection of nine Triple Crowns places him joint-fourth on the all-time list behind O’Sullivan (21), Hendry (18) and Davis (15) and level with Higgins.

MORE : What is the prize money for the World Snooker Championship 2023?

MORE : Mark Selby not sure experience counts for much against ‘blasé’ Luca Brecel

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *