Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Today: a controller working in finance who makes $94,330 per year ($162,830 when combined with her husband) and spends some of her money this week on ravioli.

Occupation: Controller
Industry: Finance
Age: 37
Location: Appleton, WI
My Salary: $94,330 + variable bonus depending on company performance
My Husband’s Salary: $68,500
My Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $2,570
My Husband’s Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $1,679

Monthly Expenses
Mortgage: $1,305 including property taxes and insurance. We live in a three-bedroom/two-bathroom ranch with our two cats.
Student Loans: $0 (I graduated loan-free, and my husband’s loans have been paid off for years.)
Phone: $161 (Husband’s company gives us $40/month to offset part of this.)
Cable: $160 (Including TV and internet.)
Utilities: $214
Car Payments: $1,094
Car Insurance: $112 (Includes an umbrella policy, paid semiannually.)
Health Insurance: $150 out of my husband’s paycheck
HSA: $587 including fees. We currently have about $4,700 in our account.
Mattress: $100 (Tempur-Pedic at 0% interest)
Tithing: $50
Netflix: $14
Savings: $225, including $75 earmarked for charitable giving. We currently have about $14,000 in various accounts.
“Fun” Money: $300 ($150 each month for personal hobbies and gifts. Everything else is shared.)
401(k): $1,445 (I’m at 12% with an 8% company match, and my husband is at 10% with a 7% company match. My current balance is $177,000, and his is about $80,000.)

Annual Expenses
Costco: $126
Amazon Prime: $100
Auto Registrations: $165
Season Tickets: $750

Day One

5:45 a.m. — It’s Memorial Day, so there’s no alarm to wake up to, but the cats don’t seem to have gotten that message. Unsolicited yowling goes on for a while, but I eventually fall back asleep. My husband, B., has likely been up for a while — he has an internal alarm clock that cannot be ignored — but the cats still prefer to torture me.

7:30 a.m. — Up for the day. I snack on a leftover croissant from yesterday’s breakfast while B. has a frozen breakfast sandwich. (He nicely waited until I was awake to use the microwave.) I then make some tea and throw together fried rice using leftovers from last night’s dinner. I’m not a big fan of traditional breakfast foods and really struggle with breakfast in general, so I tend to eat weird things in the morning. I eat my rice as B. goes to get a propane tank refill and some grill cleaner — we’re cooking out later, and although we grill year-round (yes, even in winter in the snow), he still likes doing a “spring cleaning” each year ($59.86). He also gets gas while he’s out ($29.89). $89.75

9:40 a.m. — I shower and get ready for the day. Even though it’s a holiday, I plan to get in a couple hours of work this morning. Working in operations finance means I don’t have a crazy January-to-April tax-type schedule, but instead I have a monthly financial close cycle. I’d compare it to 12 sprints each year versus one …read more

Source:: Refinery29

      

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
A Week In Appleton, WI, On A Joint $162,830 Salary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *